2016 Book Favourites

This year, I tried my darndest to get back into the habit of reading. It is a habit I have loved for as long as I can remember, but years of schooling seemed to put it off. I read about 15 books this year, but three of them stood out to me. These three books are ones that I just zipped through because I enjoyed them so thoroughly. If you need a new book to pick up, I definitely can recommend these ones.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

img_1930

I have been meaning to read this book for a long time, probably since the movie came out (which I still haven’t seen I admit). This book fascinated me not only because of the various stories being told but because of the history lesson. This is not based on a true story necessarily, but the events that happen in this book certainly happened during the 50s and 60s. It is heartbreaking to read, but I still found myself being able to cheer for the main characters being represented. It certainly gave me the sense of how far we have come in the treatment of black persons and women in general.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, J.K. Rowling

img_1932

It should be no surprise to people that I LOVED this book! Though technically, it is the play manuscript. For those of you who may not be as into Harry Potter as I am, this play takes place 19 years after Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. We follow Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Draco’s children as they encounter life at Hogwarts, and how very different some of their experiences were from their respective parents. The time turner makes a reappearance and we see what life could have ended up like for them all had events that took place during the HP series ended differently.

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

img_1931

As I said in my December 2016 Favourites post, I LOVE Anna Kendrick. She is one of my favourite actresses and people to follow on social media. She’s smart, hilarious, and just overall brilliant. Reading her autobiography, I just fell more in love with her. She seems like she would be such an awesome friend and person to hang out with. Her book had a detailed section on how she would throw certain holiday-themed parties, and I want to attend every single one of them. Although I can’t say for certain if she had a ghostwriter (as many, if not most celebrity autobiographies do), but this book felt like I was talking to Anna, that she was just telling me her story and how she got into the industry. She certainly has got more credibility for her acting career versus most actresses her age/generation. Anna successfully (although it didn’t seem like it initially) made it through being a child actor into a career as an adult. All I can say is Anna, when you host that Christmas party of yours, please let me be on that guest list.

What were some of your favourite reads for 2016? I always love getting suggestions for what to read next!

Leave a Reply

