My Travel Essentials

In a few days, I will be heading down to Florida for a vacation as well as my cousin’s wedding. I am really excited to head down to one of my favourite vacation spots of all time. It’s been three years since I went down to Siesta Key, and about seven years since I went to Orlando and headed to all of the parks.

It’s been about a year and a half since I travelled far, but my essentials have remained the same. They are always my go-to when it comes to travel and, hopefully, will give you some ideas on what to pack with you on your next trip!

img_1153

Cameras

Yes, I mean plural. Since I got my Fujifilm Mini for my birthday (thanks again P!), I feel the need to bring it along with my point-and-shoot that I always take on trips. I certainly could use my phone for pictures as well, but I love shooting with my actual cameras. I think the Fujifilm will make for some awesome shots at the beach and at my cousin’s wedding (and the party following).

Books

Everyone who knows me well enough knows how much I love to read. No matter where I travel, even if I’m going away for a tournament, I always bring at least one book with me in case I have time to read something. This year, I’ll be bringing my current read (Eat, Pray, Love) along with another book in case I finish my current read while down there. I really love heading to the beach with a book in my hand and enjoying the beautiful weather with a good read.

Music

Another essential, more for the actual travelling more than anything. Whether it’s sitting in the airport waiting for my flight, or being on the plane and listening if I’m not a fan of the movie selected. Music is also great to have on-hand while relaxing or walking on the beach, which I plan on doing a lot of.

Travel Pillow

All of us who have made a road trip or two knows how uncomfortable chairs can be, and planes are certainly no different. I found my travel pillow at Winners and it actually has memory foam-like material inside making it that much more comfortable. I know this will come in handy during my flights and the long car rides that I’ll have to make a few times. It’s definitely something I recommend everyone own, especially if you aren’t a fan of plane pillows.

Snacks

I’m just going to say this outright – airports and airlines charge WAY too much for snacks. They are honestly about 4x more expensive than buying those same snacks in a store outside of the airport. I stocked up on a few favourites at Bulk Barn before my trip so I know I’ll be good to go on snacks in case I get hungry during the trip. Between the plane ride and driving, I’m not sure when I’ll actually get to eat on my travel days, so having some snacks on hand make it a little easier to travel.

Travel-friendly bottle

By now, we’ve all experienced having to get rid of a bottle of some kind that we forgot had liquid in it. Whether we had to drink what was in the bottle, or throw it out in some cases (I’ve seen it happen a few times), we have to go through security with an empty bottle if we are travelling with a bottle. It’s good to have one already empty before arriving, that way, when you get to security, you won’t have to worry about emptying it or risk getting it thrown out. Besides, as soon as you cross security, you can find the nearest water fountain and fill it on up, simultaneously avoidingΒ having to pay $10 for a bottle of water (seriously).

Extra clothing

If you are going somewhere with a different climate, it’s a good idea to pack weather-friendly clothing for your destination in your carry on so you can make a quick change when you arrive without having to rifle through your suitcase. It’s also a good backup plan in case, heaven forbid, the airline loses your luggage and you are stuck wearing what you have on for the whole trip.

Travel-friendly cosmetics

I have this cute little clutch with feathers that is the perfect size for travelling. It fits travel-sized items like deodorant, hand cream, Gravel, hand sanitizer, etc. You never know what kind of stuff you will need during your day of travel, so it’s always nice to have these small things on hand should any issues arise.

What are your travel essentials?

Leave a Reply

