Food Friday: My Favourite Smoothies

Smoothies are becoming my go-to item for breakfast. Not only are they quick and easy to make, they are delicious and fill me up to start my day off.

61oujvltzil-_sl1500_

For Christmas a few years ago, my dad gave me a Hamilton Beach single blender which I absolutely LOVE. It is the perfect size for a single-serve smoothie, and a very low maintenance appliance.

You can find this blender in a variety of colours now pretty well anywhere that would sell this kind of appliance.

As for my smoothie recipes, there are two that I alternate between: my strawberry banana smoothie, and the blueberry bombshell smoothie from Tone It Up.

Strawberry Banana Smoothie img_0937

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cups Great Value Sliced Strawberry & Banana
  • 1 cup Almond Milk (I love Almond Breeze, both original and vanilla)
  • 1 scoop of your favourite protein powder (I use GNC Total Lean vanilla)

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients to blender. Blend until you reach the desired consistency.
  2. Enjoy!

Blueberry Bombshell Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Frozen Blueberries
  • 1/4 cup Frozen Banana
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I use either vanilla or chocolate flavoured)
  • 1 cup Almond Milk
  • 1 Tbsp Cacao Nibs (optional)

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients to blender. Blend until you reach the desired consistency.
  2. If you are adding the cacao nibs, you can also add them as a topper once the remaining ingredients have blended.
  3. Enjoy!

In terms of smoothies I enjoy from retailers, my favourites are the Strawberry Banana Smoothie from Tim Hortons, the Strawberry Smoothie from Starbucks, and the Funky Monkey from Booster Juice. They are all filling, yummy, and a great way to start the day OR recover from a great workout.

What are some of your go-to smoothies?

Leave a Reply

