Food Friday: Healthy Mexican Plate

In the past few months, I have begun enjoying eating various Mexican plates. While I was working for the Canadian Ski Council over the winter, my co-workers went to the Mexican grill across the street at least once a week (sometimes up to three times). It didn’t peak my interest at the time so I never bothered getting anything from there. During my training week for my current full-time job, my manager took me out for lunch to Mucho Burrito (somewhere I had never been before). It took me a while to pick, but I eventually chose the Salad meal. Holy was that delicious and oh so filling. I didn’t finish eating the whole thing but it was something I’ve had a few occasions afterwards.

Imagine my surprise when I stumbled upon the Mexican Plate recipe from Tone It Up during my Bikini Series. I didn’t actually make the meal during the series, but have made this particular recipe twice now and love it. I don’t use all the ingredients they have listed, I’m happy with lettuce, chicken, guac, salsa, and greek yogurt. It gets the job done. I’m so full and satisfied when I finish and don’t feel the guilt as I tend to with the Mucho Burrito salad.

It’s very easy to put together and you can make it as fancy, spicy, and flavourful as to your liking. Enjoy!

Ingredients
6oz grilled chicken
2 handfuls lettuce
1/4 cup guacamole
1/4 cup salsa
1⁄4 cup pico de gallo
1⁄4 sliced jalapeño
1⁄4 cup black beans
1⁄4 cup chopped bell peppers, onions
Hot sauce to taste (Cholula)
1 dollop Greek yogurt
Fresh lime squeeze
optional: toasted whole wheat or GF tortilla

Directions
Combine ingredients as you like it!

Leave a Reply

