My Summer Essentials

Although some days have made it feel like it was already here, summer has officially arrived! I’m probably biased since my birthday is in the summer, but it is easily my favourite season. I can sit outside and work, I can go for long bike rides, walks, and, if I’m lucky enough to find one, hang out at the beach for the day and enjoy the warm sun.

I definitely have some essentials when it comes to this time of year, some are pretty obvious, but I hope this list gives you some ideas of summer essentials for you to add to your every day.

Sunscreen
This one seems obvious, but sunscreen is a necessity. Whether I am outside playing sports or even just going for a walk, I always make sure I have sunscreen on to avoid getting burnt.

Hats
I don’t wear hats often in the summer, but when I do, it’s usually between three different ones. They help me avoid getting a headache on super hot and humid days and provide that little bit of shade for your face. Plus, there are some that are an adorable addition to any outfit.

Aloe Spray/Cream
If you’re like me, sometimes it doesn’t matter how much sunscreen you put on, you still somehow get burnt in the oddest spots. Aloe spray is such a relief for those occassions. The one I have is from Anthropologie and its a nice, small size perfect for any purse or to take with you on a trip. You feel instant coolness and relief on that burn and it usually will last a few hours making the burn more comfortable to deal with.

Mosquito Repellant Cream
I love being outside during the summer, and I love going up north to a cottage or just to go for a hike. Unfortunately, I get bitten a lot and no matter what sprays I used, nothing worked. P brought this mosquito repellant cream with us up north two years ago and I have been obsessed ever since. Its a lot more concentrated than sprays and works 1000% better than anything else I’ve tried.

BB Cream
I don’t wear a lot of makeup in the summer, especially now that I work from home full-time. When I do wear makeup, I don’t want it to be too heavy as it’s already hot out and sweating it all off wouldn’t be pretty. I like BB Cream not only because it’s lightweight and provides great coverage, but because most of them have SPF included in the formula which protects your face from the sun.

Waterproof Mascara
This is another makeup item that I wear in the summer whenever I do put makeup on. The waterproof mascara is key whether you are going to be in a pool or lake or if you just want to avoid it running due to sweating. Most makeup companies have a waterproof version of their mascaras which I highly recommend you pick up the next chance you get.

Water
This is the essential of all summer essentials. Water keeps you hydrated, energized, and cool which can help you avoid feeling ill during summer days. I always have a glass or bottle of water with me while I work, when I workout, go for a bike ride or hike, and if I have room, when I go downtown for the day. There are reusable bottles in all sizes and flexibilities around so be sure to keep water on you whenever you can!

What are your summer essentials?

xo

p.s. see my corresponding video here

Leave a Reply

