Marvellous Macarons

This long weekend, I re-attempted a recipe that has always been an Achilles Heel for me: Macarons. My love for macarons certainly extends from my passion for the city of Paris. It is a bucket list item of mine to enjoy Parisian Macarons, regardless of how much they will probably end up costing me.

While I have been good at making baked goods for a while now, macarons have always been that one recipe that I’ve struggled with. And I now know why: it requires A LOT of patience and quite a bit of time. For one thing, the egg whites need to be whisked until they have become stiff peaks, and this took at least 15 minutes (I feel that I’m being generous about that). As well, once I got the perfect consistency for the macarons to be placed on the baking sheet, I had to be patient about the size of the macarons and the form I was using to pour them. Lucky for me, I have this macaron set which includes a macaron baking sheet and a sort of decorating bag that resembles a Whoopie Cushion, oddly enough. Anywho, once I had the macarons laying out on the sheet, I knew they needed to rest, so after tapping the sheet on the table to remove the bubbles, I left them to sit for 40 minutes.

By the time I had to put them in the oven, the shape of the macarons was perfectly defined and I was happy. The next task was making the filling, which went horribly wrong. The recipe I got for the entire project was from one of Bethany Mota’s videos and while the shell portion of the recipe worked flawlessly, I just couldn’t figure out the filling she made. So I went to my backup of my macaron recipe book in my room and made a “simple” buttercream. That recipe had hardly any ingredients which helped me remember why I wrote all over the recipe a few years ago when I last attempted macarons.

In the end, I managed to make delicious macarons that were quickly eaten up by my family and P and his family.

Here is the recipe, I hope it finds you well:

Macaron Shell:

Ingredients
* 3 egg whites
* 2 cups powdered sugar
* 1 cup almond flour (ground almonds)
* 1/4 cup sugar
* 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
* Food colouring of your choice

Step 1
Pour powdered sugar in bowl and mix in almond flour. Put mixture through a sifter making sure to remove all lumps. This mix needs to be a smooth as possible. 

Step 2
Put egg whites in mixing bowl until fluffy. Pour in cream of tartar and slowly add in sugar. Add food colouring to your liking.

Step 3
Combine flour mixture with egg mixture by fold the two mixtures together with a spatula and not the mixer. Do this until you reach consistency where the mix is dripping off the spatula.

Step 4
Squeeze onto baking sheet or mould. Tap sheet on counter to remove bubbles. Let the pan sit for 30 mins to harden. Preheat oven to 300f.

Step 5
Bake for 10-15 minutes in a gas oven or 18-20 minutes in an electric oven. 

Macaron Filling:

Ingredients (feel free to add as needed)
* 2tbsp Unsalted Butter, softened
* 1tsp Vanilla Extract
* 1 cup Powdered Sugar

Step 6
Combine butter and vanilla in a mixing bowl until pale and fluffy.

Step 7
Add powdered sugar slowly until smooth and creamy.

Step 8
Add filling to shells to complete macarons. 

Leave a Reply

