Dealing with the end of a job.

In the industry of writing, editing, proofreading, etc., you are more likely to be put on a contract rather than being hired full time. It’s an unfortunate reality that I came to terms with again yesterday after being told by my supervisor that my contract would be up in two weeks.

I wasn’t entirely surprised, I knew that it was coming soon, but I was surprised all the same. I suppose its because I’ve been in a routine since October; I was comfortable, I was making money regularly. I’m scared to go back into the world of the unemployed. I attempted to apply for Employment Insurance last time I was out of work in the summer, but it didn’t pan out. I have money put away for the time being to pay for things like my car and my student loan, but I’m still worried.

I’m lucky that I still live at home with my parents, so I don’t have to worry about paying any rent.

I can look at the positive in that it will give me time to work on my YouTube channel and record new videos, I can work on the corresponding pieces to write for here, and I can focus again on working out regularly. I’ve been house-sitting for my grandparents since I started working here, and I really have had no desire to go to the gym and workout except on the weekends. I can feel the difference in how I feel, which is mostly tired and lazy.

I am also looking forward to my own bed, being home with my family, and being home with my bunny. Hopefully my job hunt won’t be for too long.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

