Bookshelf Facelift DIY

A few weekends ago I finally managed to DIY my small bookshelf in my room. I’ve had this shelf for a long time, it was originally white which I then painted black, so my I knew my process putting it back to white would be an interesting one.

This is what the shelf looked like before I started:

IMG_0051

Tools you’ll need (besides your bookshelf):

  • Spray paint or paint in your colour of choice
  • Tarp
  • Paint brushes (if using paint)
  • Scrapbook paper of your choice
  • Glue (I used Mod Podge)
  • Craft Exacto knife
  • Cutting board
  • Scrapbook page cutter

Step 1:

After clearing off your shelf, take a washcloth or a Lysol wipe and wipe down the shelf to remove any dirt or dust. After you finish cleaning, take out the shelves and lay them down on the tarp.

Step 2:

Take your paint or spray paint and cover one side of your shelf. Once that side has dried, paint the other side. Repeat until you have reached your desired colour of your shelves.

IMG_0053

Step 3:

Lie your shelving unit on the tarp and begin painting your unit. Don’t worry so much about the back of the unit as that will eventually be covered with your scrapbook paper. It may take four or five coats to get your desired colour depending on the type of paint you use and the original colour of your shelving unit.

IMG_0054 IMG_0057

Step 4:

Measure out the back of your shelving unit to determine how much scrapbook paper you will need. I first placed a full sheet of my paper on the back to see how much I would need to cover the rest of that first part. Once you have measured the remaining space, use your craft knife or your page cutter to get the desired size.

IMG_0059

Step 5:

After you’ve made sure that your shelving unit and shelves are dry and the colour you want,  take your glue and spread it around the back of your unit. I recommend doing sections at a time so the glue isn’t already dried by the time you reach another area.

Step 6:

Once the back of your unit is covered with your scrapbook paper, measure out the front of the shelves to give it another accent. Cut accordingly and glue the strips of paper to the front of the shelves. I left the top and bottom alone to give the shelves that I did stick the scrap paper to that extra something.

IMG_0067

And there you have it! A few days and you have a newly revamped bookshelf that is truly Pinterest or Instagram-worthy!

One thought on “Bookshelf Facelift DIY

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Awesome! I love using what is already around to make it fresh again. I hope you get many years of great use from this piece and hey if your style changes you can go all pro again and repaint! Well done! Have a great evening. Koko:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

